Faculty of the Group

Lara Buchak, Associate Professor of Philosophy. Ph.D., Princeton University, 2009. Decision theory.

Office: 247 Moses Hall
Phone: 510-296-5932
E-mail: buchak@berkeley.edu
Web: http://philosophy.berkeley.edu/people/detail/208

Wesley H. Holliday, Assistant Professor of Philosophy. Ph.D., Philosophy, Stanford University, 2012. Epistemic logic, epistemology, modal logic. Logic Colloquium Chair.

Office: 246 Moses Hall
Phone: 510-296-5916
E-mail: wesholliday@berkeley.edu
Web: http://philosophy.berkeley.edu/holliday

John MacFarlane, Professor of Philosophy. Ph.D., Philosophy, University of Pittsburgh, 2000. Philosophy of language, philosophical logic, history and philosophy of logic.

Office: 231 Moses Hall
Phone: 510-394-3321
E-mail: jgm@berkeley.edu
Web: http://johnmacfarlane.net/

Paolo Mancosu, Willis S. and Marion Slusser Professor of Philosophy. Ph.D., Philosophy, Stanford University, 1989; joined Berkeley faculty in 1995. Logic, philosophy of mathematics. Chair of the Group.

Office: 233 Moses Hall
Phone: 510-296-4325
E-mail: mancosu@socrates.berkeley.edu
Web: http://philosophy.berkeley.edu/mancosu/

Antonio Montalban, Associate Professor of Mathematics. Ph.D., Cornell University 2005. Computability theory. Curator of the Logic Library.

George Necula, Ph.D., Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science.

Office: 783 Soda Hall
Phone: 510-643-1481
E-mail: necula@cs.berkeley.edu
Web: http://www.eecs.berkeley.edu/~necula/

Christos H. Papadimitriou, Professor of Computer Science. Ph.D., Computer Science, Princeton University, 1976; joined Berkeley faculty in 1996. Complexity theory, theory of computation.

Office: 689 Soda Hall
Phone: 510-642-1559
E-mail: christos@cs.berkeley.edu
Web: http://www.cs.berkeley.edu/~christos/

Stuart Russell, Professor of Computer Science and Smith-Zadeh Professor in Engineering, University of California, Berkeley, Adjunct Professor of Neurological Surgery, University of California, San Francisco. Ph.D., Computer Science, Stanford University, 1986. Artificial intelligence.

Office: 740 Sutardja Dai Hall
E-mail: russell@cs.berkeley.edu
Web: https://www.cs.berkeley.edu/~russell/

Thomas Scanlon, Professor of Mathematics. Model theory, Diophantine geometry. Graduate Adviser.

Office: 723 Evans Hall
Phone: 510-642-3665
E-mail: scanlon@math.berkeley.edu
Web: http://www.math.berkeley.edu/~scanlon/

Sanjit A. Seshia, Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences. Ph.D., Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon University, 2005. Computational logic, dependable computing, formal methods, cyber-physical systems, computer security.

Office: 566 Cory Hall
Phone: 510-643-6968
E-mail: sseshia@eecs.berkeley.edu
Web: http://www.eecs.berkeley.edu/~sseshia/

Theodore A. Slaman, Professor of Mathematics. Ph.D., Mathematics, Harvard, 1981; joined Berkeley faculty in 1996. Recursion theory.

Office: 719 Evans Hall
Phone: 510-643-5695
E-mail: slaman@math.berkeley.edu
Web: http://math.berkeley.edu/~slaman/

Hans D. Sluga, William and Trudy Ausfahl Professor of Philosophy. BPhil, Oxford University, 1962. History of logic, philosophy of mathematics.

Office: 309 Moses Hall
Phone: 510-296-5926
E-mail: sluga@berkeley.edu
Web: http://philosophy.berkeley.edu/sluga/

John R. Steel, Professor of Mathematics. Ph.D., Logic and Methodology of Science, Berkeley, 1977; joined Berkeley faculty in 1996. Set theory, inner model theory, descriptive set theory.

Office: 717 Evans Hall
Phone: 510-642-2252
E-mail: steel@math.berkeley.edu
Web: http://math.berkeley.edu/~steel

Umesh Vazirani, Professor of Computer Science. Ph.D., Computer Science, University of California, Berkeley. Complexity theory, cryptography.

Office: 671 Soda Hall
Phone: 510-642-0572
E-mail: vazirani@cs.berkeley.edu
Web: http://www.cs.berkeley.edu/~vazirani/

Seth Yalcin, Associate Professor of Philosophy. Ph.D., MIT, 2008. Philosophy of language, philosophical logic.

Office: 138 Moses Hall
Phone: 510-296-4327
E-mail: yalcin@berkeley.edu
Web: http://philosophy.berkeley.edu/people/detail/240

Emeritus Faculty

John W. Addison Jr., Professor Emeritus of Mathematics. Theory of definability, descriptive set theory, model theory, recursive function theory.

Office: 797 Evans Hall
Phone: 510-642-2147
E-mail: addison@math.berkeley.edu

Robert M. Anderson, Professor Emeritus of Economics and Mathematics. Ph.D., Yale University, 1977. Nonstandard analysis.

Office: 501 Evans Hall
Phone: 510-642-5248
E-mail: anderson@econ.berkeley.edu
Web: http://emlab.berkeley.edu/facdir/anderson.html

Charles S. Chihara, Emeritus Professor of Philosophy. Ph.D., Philosophy, University of Washington, 1960. Philosophy of mathematics, philosophical logic.

Alan Code, Professor Emeritus of Philosophy. Ancient logic.

Leo A. Harrington, Professor Emeritus of Mathematics. Recursion theory, model theory, set theory.

Office: 765 Evans Hall
Phone: 510-642-3790
E-mail: leo@math.berkeley.edu
Web: http://math.berkeley.edu/~leo

Richard M. Karp, Ph.D., University Professor and Professor Emeritus of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences, of Industrial Engineering and Operations Research, and of Mathematics. Computational complexity.

Office: 621 Soda Hall
Phone: 510-642-5799

Paul Kay, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus of Linguistics. Semantics, pragmatics, syntax, lexicon.

Office: 1203 Dwinelle Hall
Phone: 510-643-5431

Ralph McKenzie, Professor Emeritus of Mathematics; Distinguished Professor, Vanderbilt University. Ph.D., University of Colorado 1966; joined Berkeley faculty in 1966. General algebra, lattice theory, ordered sets, logic, algorithms.

Jack H. Silver, Professor of Mathematics.

Office: 753 Evans Hall
Phone: 510-642-2586
E-mail: silver@math.berkeley.edu

W. Hugh Woodin, Professor Emeritus of Mathematics. Large cardinals, determinacy, set theory.

Office: 721 Evans Hall
Phone: 510-643-7644
E-mail: woodin@math.berkeley.edu
Web: http://www.math.berkeley.edu/~woodin/

Lotfi Zadeh, Professor Emeritus of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences. Artificial intelligence, natural language processing, expert systems, fuzzy sets.

Office: 729 Soda Hall
Phone: 510-642-4959